top of page

Blog #10: Let's Go Viral, Bro!


When reading the Wikipedia page on viral marketing (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Viral_marketing), I couldn't help but think of our upcoming Project 3. In today's day and age, viral marketing is the perfect strategy for circulating the 3 components of our project. In the case of our particular project, we will most likely be utilizing the word-of-mouth aspect of this strategy with the help of our social media outlets. The alternative would be to pay companies for the circulation of advertisements, but we're college kids so *ain't nobody got funds for that.*

It would be wise to use Internet outlets to promote our project 3, whether it be via our website or social media pages. I plan to use the blogosphere for my first idea of project 3. My first genre is to redefine a word from my community: "collegiette." Once I formulate my new definition, I will write an article about it and submit it to my editor for consideration to be published on HerCampus.com/schools/fsu. I will be utilizing the internet yet again in my 3rd genre for project 3. It will be a proposal for a new webpage design for HerCampus that refaces the brand.

This utilization of the internet is what viral marketing is all about. I can spread the word of my article and website proposal through word-of-mouth with the help of my social media platforms. I can post links to them on my personal Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram pages.


bottom of page